THE CITY OF EASTLAND CITY COMMISSION CALLED MEETING

May 5, 2021

EASTLAND, TEXAS §

EASTLAND, COUNTY §

The City Commission of the City of Eastland, Texas, met in Open Session at Eastland City Hall as scheduled, and notice was posted 72 hours prior to the meeting.

CITY COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

Commissioner Cecil Funderburgh
Chairman Larry Vernon
Commissioner Richard Rossander
Commissioner Ben McNabb
Commissioner Zac Darr

PERSONNEL PRESENT:

City Manager J. J. Oznick City Secretary Roma Holley

Guests:

I. MEETING CALLED TO ORDER

Chairman Larry Vernon called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

II. INVOCATION AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairman Larry Vernon offered the invocation and Commissioner Cecil Funderburgh led the Pledge of Allegiance.

III. PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY SUBJECT NOT LISTED ON THIS AGENDA (Limited to Five Minutes Per Speaker)

There were no comments from the public at this time.

- IV. The Board of City Commissioners May Discuss and Take Action on the Following Agenda Items
- Discussion and Consideration to Approve Resolution No. 2021-08
 Canvassing the Election Returns and Declaring the Results of the May 1, 2021 General Election

Commissioner Cecil Funderburgh made a motion, seconded by Richard Rossander, to approve Resolution No. 2021-08.

Section One. Canvass Returns - To be considered are the returns of the general election held on the 1st day of May, 2021, for the purpose of electing three city commissioners. Appearing from said returns, duly and legally made; each of the candidates in said election received the following votes:

Candidate	Early Votes	Election Day Votes	Total Votes
Zac Darr	69	44	113
Ben McNabb	71	65	136

Cecil Funderburgh	92	64	156
Ken Knowles	33	26	59

Section Two. <u>Declaring Results – It is hereby declared by the City Commission that said election was duly called; that notice of said election was given in accordance with law, that said election was held in accordance with law; and that **Zac Darr, Ben McNabb and Cecil Funderburgh** are duly elected to the City Commission of Eastland, Texas, subject to taking the oath of office as provided by the laws of the State of Texas.</u>

Motion prevailed by the following vote:

Ayes: Darr, Funderburgh, McNabb, Rossander

Nays: None Absent: None

2. Administer Oath of Office to Elected Officials

City Secretary Roma Holley Administered the Oath of Office to Cecil Funderburgh, Zac Darr and Ben McNabb

3. Discussion and Consideration of Election of City Officers

CHAIRMAN / MAYOR: Commissioner Cecil Funderburgh nominated Commissioner Larry Vernon and Commissioner Zac Darr seconded. The nominations ceased. The motion prevailed with Chairman Vernon abstaining from the vote.

CHAIRMAN PRO TEM: Commissioner Ben McNabb nominated Commissioner Richard Rossander and Commissioner Cecil Funderburgh seconded. The nominations ceased. The motion prevailed with Commissioner Rossander abstaining from the vote.

SECRETARY / TREASURER: Commissioner Ben McNabb nominated Commissioner Cecil Funderburgh. Commissioner Zac Darr seconded and nominations ceased. The motion prevailed with Commissioner Funderburgh abstaining from the vote.

ASSISTANT TREASURER: Commissioner Richard Rossander nominated Commissioner Ben McNabb. Commissioner Cecil Funderburgh seconded and nominations ceased. The motion prevailed with Commissioner McNabb abstaining from the vote.

ASSISTANT TREASURER: Commissioner Richard Rossander nominated Zac Darr. Commissioner Cecil Funderburgh seconded and nominations ceased. The motion prevailed with Commissioner Darr abstaining from the vote.

V. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Zac Darr made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Richard Rossander, to adjourn at 12:06 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

ATTEST	APPROVED	
Roma Holley	Larry Vernon, Chairman	
City Secretary	Board of City Commissioners	